Friday, September 7, 2012

Overview of new Microsoft 2012 exams

Today I passed the System Center 2012 Configuration Manager (ConfigMgr) exam. ConfigMgr 2012 is the only System Center product with a dedicated exam. The other System Center products are bundled in a Microsoft Private Cloud exam. Because of new Microsoft System Center 2012 exams, Windows Server 2012 exams, and Windows 8 exams, I place a complete overview in this blogpost. Here we go!

MCTS: System Center 2012
70-243 Administering and Deploying System Center 2012 Configuration Manager
As mentioned earlier this is just for ConfigMgr 2012. The other System Center 2012 products are bundled in the Microsoft Private Cloud exams.

MCSE: Microsoft Private Cloud
70-246 Monitoring and Operating a Private Cloud with System Center 2012
70-247 Configuring and Deploying a Private Cloud with System Center 2012 
All System Center 2012 products (except ConfigMgr 2012) are bundled in these exams. More information about both exams HERE
More information: Microsoft Learning
MCSA: Windows Server 2012
70-410 Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012
70-411 Administering Windows Server 2012
70-412 Configuring Advanced Windows Server 2012 Services 
The MCSA: Windows Server 2012 certification shows that you have the primary set of Windows Server skills that are relevant across multiple solution areas in a business environment.
More information: Microsoft Learning

MCSE: Server Infrastructure
70-413 Designing and Implementing a Server Infrastructure
70-414 Implementing an Advanced Server Infrastructure
The MCSE: Server Infrastructure certification validates your ability to build comprehensive server infrastructure solutions.
More information: Microsoft Learning
MCSE: Desktop Infrastructure
70-415 Implementing a Desktop Infrastucture
70-416 Implementing Desktop Application Environments
The MCSE: Desktop Infrastructure certification validates your skills in desktop virtualization, remote desktop services and application virtualization.
70-417 Upgrading Your Skills to MCSA Windows Server 2012
If you have an MCSA: Windows Server 2008 certification, you may take Exam 417 to upgrade to the MCSA: Windows Server 2012.
More information: Microsoft Learning
MCSA: Windows 8
70-687 Configuring Windows 8
At the moment this is the only Windows 8 exam available.
70-688 Managing and Maintaining Windows 8
Update 18-1-2013: A new Windows 8 exam is available now!
70-689 Upgrading Your Skills to MCSA Windows 8
The MCSA: Windows 7 certification allows you to upgrade to the MCSA: Windows 8 certification, by taking a single upgrade exam.
Update 18-1-2013: The Windows 8 upgrade exam is available now!
That's it for now! I think there will be more exams to come about deployment with MDT 2012. This in combination with Windows 8 and Office 2013. With these exams there's lot to do next months! :)