When OS deployment is done on systems, sometimes it's needed to wipe just the C drive and keep existing data on the D drive. When using a default task sequence in SCCM/ConfigMgr or MDT all data is wiped. This because exiting partitions will be deleted and created again. In this blogpost I explain what to do in this situation.
Just create a default task sequence for OS deployment first. Just edit it after creation and remove any “Format and Partition Disk” step. You can't use this step without wiping the disk at all. In the "Apply Operating System Image" step, make the following modifications before deployment: Set the destination to a specific Disk 0 and Partition 1 (for example), so it's fixed after that.
That way only the partition configured will be used. Other partitions or disks will be saved this way! During the "Apply Operating System Image" step, the configured Disk and Partition will be formatted first before installation. Job completed!